Flag of the Crescent and Star

Feeling patriotic as The Pakistan Cricket Team won in the ICC Champions Trophy final cricket match! To celebrate, I have designed a crescent and star inspired by the Pakistani flag, Parcham-e-Sitāra-o-Hilāl.

I grew up in England and my parents are from Pakistan, which makes me British-Pakistani. If you have ever seen the film ‘Bend It Like Beckham’ then you already know my life story up until the age of 15(ish). On my last trip to Pakistan, I visited my favourite village, Padhana. Padhana is my favourite place in the world because of the nature, people, simplicity, peace and the heat.

DSC09218
Children of Padhana

Appreciating the surroundings that have shaped me, my admiration for the country has lead me into a lot of interesting opportunities. As a Cultural Talks Speaker I deliver talks and activities based on Pakistani culture for schools and other organisations. Henna is a huge part of Pakistani celebrations and I love to embrace the ancient art.

 

Leave a Reply

